PCI Compliance

What is PCI?  Payment Card Industry. The PCI DSS, a set of comprehensive requirements for enhancing payment account data security, was developed by the founding payment brands of the PCI Security Standards Council, to help facilitate the broad adoption of consistent data security measures on a global basis. There are 12 standards that are divided into six groups:

1) Build and Maintain a Secure Network
Requirement 1: Install and maintain a firewall configuration to protect cardholder data
Requirement 2: Do not use a vendor-supplied defaults for system passwords and other security parameters

2) Protect Cardholder Data
Requirement 3: Protect stored cardholder data
Requirement 4: Encrypt transmission of cardholder data across open, public network

3) Maintain a Vulnerability Managment Program
Requirement 5: Use and regularly update anti-virus software
Requirement 6: Develop and maintain secure systems and applications

4) Implement Strong Access Control Measures
Requirement 7: Restrict access to cardholder data by business need-to-know
Requirement 8: Assign a unique ID to each person with computer access
Requirement 9: Restrict physical access to cardholder data

5) Regularly Monitor and Test Networks
Requirement 10: Track and monitor all access to network resources and cardholder data
Requirement 11: Regularly test security systems and processes

6) Maintain an Information Security Policy
Requirement 12: Maintain a policy that addresses information security

The steps you follow to validate PCI DSS compliance are based on the way you process your cusomers' credit cards.  Validation is an annual process that may require quarterly reporting. For additional information please visit the links below or contact an Expect representative today.